Why “GarnetEwe?”  Ewe because of my love of natural fibers and knitting.  Garnet because…well, garnet’s my birthstone and I wanted something that would stand out.  There IS a breed of sheep called red sheep but I think I’ll make mine just a touch more rowdy.  I plan to edit that photo in the not to distant future, so watch for it!  

I’m an avid knitter and recently have been knitting my heart out with socks.  I’ll post some pictures in the next couple of days.  I also consider myself an artist — of sorts.  I dabble in watercolors, paper arts, sewing, and textiles in general.I’m also the mother of a brilliant 10 year old daughter.  (Do I sound at all proud???)  She’s recently taken up knitting herself though I don’t know where she’s going to find the time.  She’s a very serious ballet dancer and I spend much of my time driving her from our home in Eureka up to Arcata for her lessons (4 days a week!).  She’s participating in her first talent show, sponsored by the local Kiwanis Club, on May 12 – dancing a number she choreographed all by herself!  I’ll let you know how that goes!

The other artistic element in our lives is my husband Tim.  I met him over 30 years ago but we only got married five years ago (long, romantic story….).  As long as I’ve known him he’s been a musician and since we’ve moved here he’s been very busy!  One of the bands he’s in is starting to get quite active and will be releasing their first CD soon.  The band is called Ukesperience and you can check them out on their website: www.ukesperience.com.  Very cool music!  You’ll love it.

That’s it for now.  I’ll see what I can do about making this a tad more interesting….

