Last Friday Eureka held it’s annual “Relay for Life.”  (http://www.relayforlife.org/relay/)relay-for-life008.jpg

 I understand that it’s the 9th largest in the country!  Pretty good for a little community in the Pacific Northwest!

  relay-for-life005.jpg  relay-for-life007.jpg

Anyway, I wasn’t a walker/runner but I did participate in the American Cancer Society’s CPS3 study.  According to our local paper (Times-Standard) “The nationwide study, the first of its magnitude in 25 years, will look at cancer causing and prevention factors. Of the 500,000 volunteers the ACS is hoping will sign up across the country, 500 will be from Humboldt County. ”  I think they probably got the number they were looking for because the tent was packed when I went it.  I just completed a multi-page survey; they drew some blood, and I was done.  (Well, I did get a See’s candy afterward!  🙂 )

Though this shot is blurry in the foreground you can see the beauty of where the event was held.  It’s so gorgeous up here!   

relay-for-life038.jpg

 The event was quite a site to see (see?)  And my hubby’s band (Ukesperience) played a nice set right after the opening ceremonies. 

relay-for-life024.jpg 

 You know, it’s  a little sobering to attend something like that and see friends wearing the RFL t-shirts and running and perhaps you didn’t even know they had been touched by cancer.    I’ve never been comfortable asking for money but I donate regularly and I think next year I’ll try to participate.

