So…it may have taken me along time, but I’m finally posting about the annual camping trip to Patrick’s Point that Kiddlebiddle (BalletDaughter) and I took this year.

 

We’ve gone, just the two of us, every year since she was six – the first year we moved here to Humboldt County.  It was a fluke the first time…just a wild idea.  But she loved it so much and frankly so did I, that we decided to make it an annual event.  We talk, eat yummies, hike, enjoy the beauty.  This year was the best yet, even if we didn’t get our favorite campsite.

It was graduation weekend for both Humboldt State and College of the Redwoods and I guess that meant folks coming from out of town and campsites booked.  This was the first time we were able to reserve our site online (www.reserveamerica.com).  I actually drove up a couple of weeks early (it’s only about 30 minutes away!) to check out the sites ‘cuz I couldn’t remember our favorites.  But once I got online, the ones we had picked weren’t available.  No worry.  Everything there is great. 

What we hadn’t counted on was the weather!  It was Goooorrrrrgeous!  HOT!  Very unusual for our area.  And we had ended up with probably one of the only sites that didn’t have tons of redwood trees!  That first day and a half we spent moving our chairs into the shade all around our site!

We have some traditions on this trip.  The first night MUST be hotdogs cooked on sticks (barbeque forks) over the fire. 

The second night MUST be “Polka-Dot Chicken.”  This scrumptious dish was so named because the holder in which you place the chicken to cook it over the fire, has holes in it that produce “dots” on the chicken itself.  I don’t know what we’ll do if this device ever gets lost!  Baked potatoes (roasted in the fire) accompany the polka dot chicken. 

This year, because of my recent weight loss and desire to continue said weight loss, we still had our traditional foods, albeit light versions.  Turkey hot dogs; grilled chicken is low fat so it was OK.  I made whole wheat pita chips to satisfy my “chip need” and gave myself permission to have other treats. 

Part of our “standard activity” is to climb into bed at night and read, while munching chocolates.  This year I wasn’t going to go the chocolate route.  I had Jelly Bellys which are low fat.  HOWEVER….chocolate is chocolate and I just can’t do without.  So M&Ms were consumed amidst giggles and stories and good books.  Kiddlebiddle read for six hours one day because she was so engrossed in her book (Meg Cabot’s Mediator series) and I actually started and finished a book myself!   She couldn’t even put her book down to eat!  can\'t be bothered to stop reading in order to eat!

 

We both had lots of fun with the camera:

 a self portrait….

Because this trip is done during the school year it has traditionally been only a 2 night visit.  Last year we had such a delightful time, we stayed Sunday night as well.  This would never happen if Kiddlebiddle wasn’t such a good student.  She can afford to miss a day of school every once in awhile.  And I look at this time as a special addition to the mother/daughter bonding that I hope will see us through the teen years ahead.  It’s just the two of us and there is prime opportunity to talk about anything and everything.  And we do.  Even if she does get goofy sometimes!   Anyway, this year we went ahead and booked the three nights ahead of time and cleared her absence with her teacher.

Also because of my weight loss, I was feeling much more energetic and actually looked forward to our activities.  We hiked all the way out to Wedding Rock    where a wedding was actually taking place (sure wouldn’t want to make that hike in heels!).   We even got a kind soul to take a shot of the two of us and we took photos of each other (people keep complaining that I never have pics of me.  So there!):

   

And the next day (Sunday) Kiddlebiddle and I hiked part of the Rim Trail.  It was overcast, but there was so much beauty.

UkeHusband came out to join us for lunch that same day as he had to leave town Monday and we would miss seeing him.  From Palmer’s Point we could even see the sea lions.

 

 

We got some great photos, including Kiddlebiddle posing as if she was a model.  (She’s really in to fashion right now!)  The beauty of Patrick’s Point can’t compete with the beauty of my daughter.

 

  It was a delightful camping trip and I’m really looking forward to next year.

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

